Significant award nominations selected by the District Governor are considered annually by Rotary International Directors and Trustees of the Rotary Foundation. District 6000 members are the recipients of several of RI and TRF’s highest honors. These awards are typically presented at the District Conference and as always, a total surprise to the recipients.
Loring Miller of the Rotary Club of Decatur County received Rotary International’s highest individual honor, the Service Above Self award. He was one of only 143 Rotarians in the world to receive the SAS.
Gerald Klonglan of the Rotary Club of Ames received The Rotary Foundation’s second highest honor, the Citation of Meritorious Service.
Ken Noble of the Rotary Club of West Liberty was one of 9 recipients in the world of TRF’s PolioPlus Pioneer award for early leadership in the polio eradication effort.
Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn of Des Moines is one of 25 recipients in the world to be honored with the Rotary International Excellence in Service to Humanity award, a non-Rotarian recognition.
Previous D6000 recipients are listed in the Awards section at left or click HERE.