Guardian of Integrity Award

The Paul E. Hellwege Guardian of Integrity Award

The District 6000 Vocational Service Team, chaired by PDG Bill Tubbs, invites and encourages your club to nominate one worthy member for the Paul E. Hellwege Guardian of Integrity Award, which is named after the late District Governor Paul Hellwege (1954-55).  The deadline for nominations is March 1, 2020.

This award was introduced in 2010-11 and is presented annually to Rotarians in District 6000 who have been a member for a minimum of three years who exemplifies the attributes and passion for ethics and integrity in his or her vocation, business and personal life that Paul exemplified.

This award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions that foster the development of integrity. It singles out those who have made contributions in business, media, academia or government and who have by his or her actions, writing, policies and public pronouncements strengthened and fostered development of integrity and ethical practices. Special consideration will be given to members who have made sacrifices and/or undertaken risks to uphold Rotary's Core Value of Integrity. A nomination by a club in and by itself is a significant recognition and should be treated as such.

There are two versions of the form posted to the left:

1. Download either type; if it's the writable one SAVE it to your computer, then fill it in and save it again using a file name like "Nomination for (insert name)". 

2. Email or mail the form and any documentation by March 1, 2020.

Note: If the writable one doesn't download as "writable",
try using a different web browser to download it or email the District Administrator

Recipients and the Club they belong to:

2011 - Brock Earnhardt - Davenport
, Jean Bartley - Iowa City AM, Vernon Condon - Boone, David Deuth - Bettendorf, Gary Foster - Clinton, Ann Harris - Washington, Pete Knapp - Coralville-North Corridor, James Koehler - North Scott, Jim Miles - Johnston, Scott Raecker - Des Moines AM, Robert Walters - Nevada

2012 - Steve Dakin - Boone, James Frevert - Nevada, Don Goering - Ames, Ned Looney - East Polk County, Keith Mattke - North Scott, Frank Mitvalsky - Bettendorf, Rick Morain - Jefferson, Scott Raecker - Des Moines AM, Bill Reese - West Des Moines, Pete Wallace - Iowa City, Mark Zirkelbach - Johnston

2013 - Merle Anderson - North Scott, Decker Ploehn - Bettendorf, Scott Raecker - Des Moines AM, Robert Ray - Des Moines, Pat Schnack - Iowa City AM, Pete Wallace - Iowa City

2014 - Elaine Graham Estes - Des Moines, Bob Morrison - Davenport, Jim Smith - North Scott, Jim Swaim - Iowa City AM

2015 - John Billingsley - Newton, Dennis Dietz - Johnston, Susan Herrick - Boone, Charlie Jones - North Scott, Gerald Klonglan - Ames 
2016 - Ken Andresen - Johnston, Dale Belknap - Des Moines, Nate Burnham - Ankeny, Deb Dunkhase - Iowa City AM, Lee Elson - Decatur County, Al Hermanson - Ames Morning, Bob Herrick - Boone, Bill Koellner - West Liberty, Patrick Olsen - North Scott, Diana Reed - NW Des Moines, Jim Slavens - Bettendorf, Gary Von Ahsen - Jefferson

2017 - Jeff Anderson - Boone, Harold Bischman - Iowa Quad-Cities, Tom Brooke - West Liberty, Jane Goeke - Keokuk, Glen Keppy - North Scott, Dick Kleine - Davenport, Philip Metcalf - Decatur County, S.K. Nanda - Bettendorf, Larry Nash - Fairfield, Nancy Pacha - Iowa City AM, Roger Schlaefer - Waukee, Thomas Walsh Jr. - Ames, Gary Welch - Ankeny

2018 - Gary Anderson - Knoxville, Becky Bray - North Scott, Dave Cook - Boone, Terry Geiger - Decatur County, Conrad Gregg - West Liberty, Ann Kappeler - Bettendorf, Dev Kiedaisch - Keokuk, Matt Lafrenz - Fort Madison, Dave Miller - Ames Morning, Don Orris - Jefferson, Kathy Sibbel - Ankeny, Bradley Vollstedt - Manning, Lynn Washburn-Livingston - Davenport

2019 - Ed Arnold - Northwest Des Moines, Wyndell Campbell - OskalooEsa, Craig Hertel - Jefferson, Paul Holzworth - North Scott, Richard Lofton - Keokuk, John Lott - Ames Morning, Gene Meeker - Davenport, Will Prather - Knoxville, Mike Schoville - Johnston, Sally Schroeder - Ankeny, Mary Youngblood - Boone

2020 - Recipients would have been announced at Festival in June, however due to the Covid 19 virus, the awards were presented at each individual's Rotary Club. Jim Conrey - West Liberty, Bill Daley - Bettendorf, Ed Kiedaisch - Keokuk, Robert Maurer - Pella, Tom Novak - Iowa City A.M., James Ramsey - Ankeny, Greg Schaapveld - North Scott, Neil Smith - Des Moines, Troy Thompson - Boone